Team India surpasses arch-rival Pakistan to win most T20I matches in calendar year

Hyderabad (Telangana) [India]26 September (ANI): Team India on Sunday surpassed arch-rivals Pakistan to become the team with the most T20I wins in a calendar year.

Men in Blue achieved the feat after winning over Australia in their third and final ODI in Hyderabad.

Chasing the 187 set by Australia, a half-century of Suryakumar Yadav (69) and Virat Kohli (63) helped Men in Blue achieve their 21st T20I victory in 2022.

The record was held by Pakistan in 2021 with 20 wins in T20I.

India has been practicing a lot of games in the shortest format for the ICC T20 World Cup which will be held from October 16th to November 13th this year.

They started the year with a 3-0 victory over the West Indies in the T20I series in February. In the same month, they beat Sri Lanka 3-0 in his T20 series at home.

June saw another T20I home series against South Africa, which ended in a 2–2 draw after the final match was abandoned due to rain.

India continued their winning streak in the shortest format with a 2–1 win against England at T20I on their own territory in July. In the same month, they beat Ireland at home to her 2–0.

In July and August, Men in Blue toured the Caribbean, defeating the West Indies 4–1 in a five-game T20I series.

This was followed by a rare smudge on India’s resume at T20Is this year. This year he failed to defend his Asian Cup title from August to September as he finished third in the Super Four Phase.

After the Australian series, South Africa will play at home in a three-game T20I series starting September 28th.

India will launch its T20 WC campaign against arch-rival Pakistan on 23 October.

India didn’t even qualify for the round of four last year as they were eliminated from the tournament during the Super 12 phase.

In the third T20I against Australia, the visiting Australian scored 186/7 in 20 overs. Cameron Green (52 of 21 balls) helped the Australian get off to an explosive start.

But then spinners Yuzvendra Chahal (1/22) and Axar Patel (3/33) helped Men in Blue make a comeback, limiting the Aussie’s runflow and making them struggle to 117/6 in 13.5 overs. I was.

A 68-run stand between Tim David (54) and Daniel Sams (28) then helped the visitors reach 186/7 in 20 overs. Axar was an Indian star with the ball and performed well in the series. Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel also took one wicket each.

Team India, chasing 187, struggled at 2/30 after quickly losing opener KL Rahul (1) and skipper Rohit Sharma (17). Then Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav scored his stand for a fast-breaking 104 runs on his 62-ball, Yadav crushed the Aussies across the park and Virat scored some quick his runs on his 20-ball in the first. After recording, we fixed the innings.

Yadav’s sacking of 36 off 69 to Josh Hazlewood broke the stand. Virat then brought up a half-century and tried to end the game, but was caught by skipper Aaron Finch, allowing Sams to make 63 of 48 pitches. India is on 4 and has one ball left. Team India finished the innings at 187/4 to win the game by 6 wickets.

Sams (2/33) performed well for the Aussie. Hazelwood and Pat Cummins each also took turns.

Suryakumar Yadav was named ‘Man of the Match’ at the age of 50. (Ani)

Team India surpasses arch-rival Pakistan to win most T20I matches in calendar year

Source link Team India surpasses arch-rival Pakistan to win most T20I matches in calendar year

Back to top button