Benzema wins Ballon d’Or, Pteras retains women’s award

Karim Benzema won the Ballon d’Or at a star-studded ceremony in Paris on Monday after a stellar run for Real Madrid, while Spain’s Alexia Puteras retained the women’s award.

Benzema, the Frenchman to win football’s most prestigious individual award since Zinedine Zidane in 1998, scored 44 goals in 46 appearances for the club last season as Real won the Champions League and La Liga.

The 34-year-old, who also won the UEFA Nations League with France, will win the award for the seventh time in 2021, succeeding Lionel Messi who was not nominated this year.

“Winning this trophy has always been on my mind.

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne was third, while Barcelona striker Robert Lewandowski was fourth.

Hosted by France Football Magazine, the award marks a remarkable career comeback for Benzema, who was barred from the French squad for five and a half years for being implicated in an extortion scandal over a sex tape involving team-mate Mathieu Valbuena. It’s the one to conclude.

He returned to the national team at last year’s European Championships and will represent France next month at the World Cup in Qatar.

Benzema turned 35 on December 19, the day after the World Cup final, making him the oldest Ballon d’Or winner since Stanley Matthews in 1956.

The award was previously based on the player’s performance during the calendar year.

~ Ptera’s eyes recover from injury ~

Instead, Pteras’ performance at Barcelona was recognized after she top-scored in the Women’s Champions League and helped Catalonia reach the final where they lost to Lyon.

“It’s more difficult to keep the trophy. When I injured my knee, I thought I had no chance of winning, but in the end the jury made a decision based on the whole of last season. It was only the moon

Chelsea and Australia’s Sam Kerr finished third.

There was no ceremony in 2020 due to the pandemic, but Pteras was the first to win a year ago.

“My knee is going well, I need to focus on my recovery.

Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois has won the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

first published as Benzema wins Ballon d’Or, Pteras retains women’s award

Benzema wins Ballon d’Or, Pteras retains women’s award

Source link Benzema wins Ballon d’Or, Pteras retains women’s award

Back to top button