Hooper returns to Wallabies for tour

Michael Hooper has returned from personal leave to join the Wallabies on their northern hemisphere tour, but has not returned to captain.

The 30-year-old has not played since leaving the side on the eve of the Wallabies Rugby Championship opener against Argentina in August.

Hooper did not give a reason for his decline, but Test Centurion said he was not in the right mental state to play.

Coach Dave Rennie named a 36-man team that included Hooper on Sunday, but said prop James Slipper would continue as captain for the five Test tours.

Lenny has selected five uncapped players for his group, including Melbourne Rebel prop Sam Tarakai and NSW pairing 5/8 Ben Donaldson and outside back Mark Nawakanitawase.

Donaldson and Nawakanitawase were impressive in the Australia A programs in Fiji and Japan, along with two other players who could make their debut in Europe, Jock Campbell and Rangi Gleason.

Renee selected two overseas-based players for his squad, recalling La Rochelle Rock’s Will Skelton, who appeared in all three games off the bench on last spring’s tour.

Another is Japan-based five-eight Bernard Foley, who returned to the test arena for last month’s Bledisloe Cup series.

The team will begin their campaign with a test against Scotland in Edinburgh before their first match against France in Paris since 2016.

They will then face Italy in Florence before testing against Ireland in Dublin and Wales in Cardiff to wrap up the 2022 season.

The team will meet in Sydney on Tuesday and embark on a five-match tour the following day.

“Michael’s return to the group is extremely important to our team on and off the field and we will make sure he gets the support around him that he needs,” Renee said. said in a statement.

“In the next five games we have a huge opportunity to test ourselves against some of the best teams in the world and string together some performances that Australian supporters are proud of.

“We are really pleased that we continue to provide game time to our players through our Australia A programme, and many of our players have been rewarded for their form with selections on the team.”

Wallabies Squad

Alan Araratoa, Tom Banks, Jock Campbell, Ben Donaldson, Folau Feingaa, Lalakai Foketty, Bernard Foley, Matt Gibbon, Nick Frost, Rangi Gleeson, Jake Gordon, Ned Hannigan, Reese Hodge, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper, Len Ikitau, Andrew Kellaway, Noah Lorecio, Lachlan Lonergan, Tate McDermott, Fraser McCrat, Mark Nawakanitawase, Cadine Neville, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petya, Matt Phillip, David Polecki, Tom Robertson, Pete Sam, Will Skelton, James Slipper (c), Sam Tarakai, Taniera Tupou, Rob Balletini, Nick White, Tom Wright.

Hooper returns to Wallabies for tour

Source link Hooper returns to Wallabies for tour

Back to top button