Kerr again third in Ballon d’Or voting

Barcelona’s Alexia Puteras won the Ballon d’Or for the second year in a row, with Sam Kerr again in third place.

The Chelsea and Australian strikers also finished third last year.

Pteras was injured on the eve of the Euros and hasn’t played since June, but her performances at the club will help secure the top spot ahead of England’s Beth Meade, who topped the Euros’ goalscoring charts. was enough for

The Spaniard scored 42 goals and provided 22 assists as Barcelona won the Spanish league last season and reached the Champions League final where they lost to Lyon.

The highest placed Lyon player was Ada Hegerberg in 7th place.

“I’m very happy to be back here. Winning last year’s award made me want to improve even more.”

“I hurt my knee in July, so I didn’t think it was possible[to win this award].”

The Ballon d’Or, awarded by France Football Magazine, is voted on by a jury of journalists from around the world.

It has been presented to men every year since 1956 when Stanley Matthews won it. The women’s trophy was made in his 2018 and hers in 2020 both canceled due to the pandemic.

Kerr was the only Australian in the top 20.

Kerr again third in Ballon d’Or voting

Source link Kerr again third in Ballon d’Or voting

Back to top button